Board of Directors

Barbara A. Ankersmit – President

Andrea Low – Vice President 

Roger W. Fonseca – Secretary

Patrick Y. Taomae – Treasurer

Jackie Young – Equity Officer

Jeff Hong – National ACLU Board Representative

Marianita Lopez – National ACLU Board Representative

Ibrahim Aoude

George Atkins

Barbara L. Franklin (Hawai‘i Island)

Pamela G. Lichty

Steven H. Levinson

Esther Solomon (Kauai)

Misaki Takabayashi (Hawai‘i Island)

A. Joris Watland

Brooke Wilson

Nominees Sought Year-Round for Hawai‘i Board

ACLU of Hawai‘i Nominating Committee (Andrea Low, chair) year-round seeks candidates statewide to fill future vacancies on our Board of Directors. Nominees of diverse backgrounds are welcome who can be visionary leaders. Prior board experience not required but solid candidates are committed to ACLU mission, collaboration and non-profit excellence.

To increase diversity, we are especially encouraging individuals who best represent youth, ethnic/racial minorities and/or disability communities to be nominated. Send your recommendations – all confidential – to Executive Director  Vanessa Chong <vchong@acluhawaii.org> along with resume of candidate.


Vanessa Y. Chong – Executive Director

Mandy Finlay – Advocacy Coordinator

Daniel Gluck – Legal Director

Kit Grant – Deputy Director

Lois Perrin – Of Counsel

Sarah Recktenwald – Legal & Legislative Assistant

Tracey Tokuoka – Executive Assistant


(updated July 2015)

%d bloggers like this: