Big mahalo to everyone who voted in our recent Board Elections!

Elected to the Board of Directors for a three-year volunteer term: Barbara L. FranklinRev. Blayne HigaJeffrey Hong, and Marianita Lopez. Congratulations and mahalo for your service!

They serve along with the other members of Board of Directors, which act as one body and provides stewardship for the short and long term vitality of ACLU programs, finances and overall organizational strength. A working Board that sets policy and direction, it is composed of members from communities statewide and with various backgrounds. The entire Board of Directors for the ACLU of Hawai‘i are below:

Board Officers for 2020:

President – Marianita Lopez

Vice President – Barbara Franklin

Secretary – Barbara Ankersmit

Treasurer – G. Rick Schneider

At Large – Roger W. Fonseca

At Large – Pamela Lichty

Equity Officer – Esther Solomon


Ibrahim Aoude, George Atkins, Kevin Block, Blayne Higa, Jeffrey Hong, Kim Coco Iwamoto, Stacia Ohira, Briane Kananiu’ilani Souza

Nominations are received year-round and the Governance Committee evaluates candidates bearing in mind the needs of the organization and wider community. The affiliate Equity Officer ensures that all reasonable measures are pursued to identify a diverse field of nominees. A proposed slate of prospects is then brought to the Board for action.

To recommend a candidate or for more information, contact Executive Director Joshua Wisch directly at jwisch@ acluhawaii.org or call (808) 522-5903.

ACLU members can vote in board elections. To become a “card carrying member” of the ACLU, please visit aclu.org/join.

%d bloggers like this: